Queens Public Library is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of 19 volunteer members. They are appointed by the Mayor and the Queens Borough President, and represent each of the borough’s community districts.

The Mayor, the Speaker of the New York City Council, the Queens Borough President, the New York City Comptroller, and the New York City Public Advocate are ex officio board members.

Queens Public Library Board of Trustees 2021


Chair of the Board

Michael Rodriguez, Esq.

Vice Chair of Board

Earl Simons, Ed. D.


Eli Shapiro, Ed. D., LCSW


Julissa Gutierrez

Assistant Treasurer

Pauline Healy

Trustee Roster

Judy E. Bergtraum, Esq.

Matthew M. Gorton

James Haddad, Esq.

Cloyette Harris-Stoute

Andrew Jackson

Peter Kauffmann

Carl S. Koerner, Esq.

Haeda Mihaltses

Guillermo Patino

George Russo, Esq.

Robert Santos, Esq.

Lydon Sleeper-O’Connell

Terri Thomson

Ex Officio Members

Hon. Eric Adams
Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Donovan Richards
President of the Borough of Queens

Represented by Allan Swisher, Esq.

Hon. Jumaane Williams
Public Advocate of the City of New York

Represented by Elizabeth Guzman, Esq.

Hon. Brad Lander
Comptroller of the City of New York

Represented by Jimmy Van Bramer

Hon. Adrienne Adams
Speaker of the New York City Council

Represented by Eve Cho Guillergan, Esq.

QPL Public Hearings and Board of Trustees & Committee Meetings

Please be advised that the following public hearing and meetings are scheduled to take place on Thursday, June 23, 2022:


Notice of Public Hearing on Use of Videoconferencing – 5:45pm

Queens Public Library will host a virtual public hearing, at the date and time above, on the use of videoconferencing for meetings of its Board of Trustees and Board committees, pursuant to Section 103-a of the Open Meetings Law. The public is encouraged to provide feedback during the hearing, which can be accessed through the Zoom link provided below.

The Board’s proposed procedures governing its use of videoconferencing will be discussed at the hearing. Those procedures can be found here: https://queenslib.org/3xB0T7Y


Notice of QPL Board and Committee Meetings:

Finance & Investments Committee Meeting: 6pm
Board of Trustees Meeting: 6:15pm

Pursuant to Governor Hochul’s Executive Order 11.7 and the safety of all participants, the hearing and scheduled meetings will be held virtually via Zoom.

Interested members may attend the scheduled hearing and meetings by using this link: https://queenslibrary-org.zoom.us/j/86203946097.