This is major [electronic resource] : Notes on diana ross, dark girls, and being dope
eBook

This is major [electronic resource] : Notes on diana ross, dark girls, and being dope

By Lawson, Shayla.
OverDrive, Inc.

Genre Electronic books.

ISBN 9780062890603

Bib Id 2365879

Description 1 online resource

More Details

Leader
02954nam a2200361Ka 4500
ISBN
9780062890603 (electronic bk)
Title
This is major [electronic resource] : Notes on diana ross, dark girls, and being dope
Publication Information
Description
1 online resource
Summary
Named one of the most anticipated books of the year by USA Today, Bitch Magazine, Parade, Salon and Ms. Magazine From a fierce and humorous new voice comes a relevant, insightful, and riveting collection of personal essays on the richness and resilience of black girl culture—for readers of Samantha Irby, Roxane Gay, Morgan Jerkins, and Lindy West. Shayla Lawson is major. You don't know who she is. Yet. But that's okay. She is on a mission to move black girls like herself from best supporting actress to a starring role in the major narrative. Whether she's taking on workplace microaggressions or upending racist stereotypes about her home state of Kentucky, she looks for the side of the story that isn't always told, the places where the voices of black girls haven't been heard. The essays in This is Major ask questions like: Why are black women invisible to AI? What is "black girl magic"? Or: Am I one viral tweet away from becoming Twitter famous? And: How much magic does it take to land a Tinder date? With a unique mix of personal stories, pop culture observations, and insights into politics and history, Lawson sheds light on these questions, as well as the many ways black women and girls have influenced mainstream culture—from their style, to their language, and even their art—and how "major" they really are. Timely, enlightening, and wickedly sharp, This Is Major places black women at the center—no longer silenced, no longer the minority.
Reproduction
Electronic reproduction. New York : Harper Perennial, 2020. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 749 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB).
Genre/Form
Electronic books
Added Author

FORMATS

SERIES

TAGS

Availability

Locations