The lightness of hands [electronic resource].
eBook

The lightness of hands [electronic resource].

By Garvin, Jeff.
OverDrive, Inc.

Genre Electronic books.

ISBN 9780062382917

Bib Id 2337156

Description 1 online resource

More Details

Leader
02941nam a2200361Ka 4500
ISBN
9780062382917 (electronic bk)
Title
The lightness of hands [electronic resource].
Publication Information
Description
1 online resource
Summary
A quirky and heartfelt coming-of-age story about a teen girl with bipolar II who signs her failed magician father up to perform his legendary but failed illusion on live TV in order to make enough money to pay for the medications they need—from the author of Symptoms of Being Human. Perfect for fans of Adi Alsaid, David Arnold, and Arvin Ahmadi. Sixteen-year-old Ellie Dante is desperate for something in her life to finally go right. Her father was a famous stage magician until he attempted an epic illusion on live TV—and failed. Now Ellie lives with her dad in a beat-up RV, attending high school online and performing with him at birthday parties and bars across the Midwest to make ends meet. But when the gigs dry up, their insurance lapses, leaving Dad's heart condition unchecked and forcing Ellie to battle her bipolar II disorder without medication. Then Ellie receives a call from a famous magic duo, who offer fifteen thousand dollars and a shot at redemption: they want her father to perform the illusion that wrecked his career—on their live TV special, which shoots in Los Angeles in ten days. Ellie knows her dad will refuse—but she takes the deal anyway, then lies to persuade him to head west. With the help of her online-only best friend and an unusual guy she teams up with along the way, Ellie makes a plan to stage his comeback. But when her lie is exposed, she'll have to confront her illness and her choices head-on to save her father—and herself.
Reproduction
Electronic reproduction. New York : Balzer + Bray, 2020. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 813 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Genre/Form
Electronic books
Added Author

FORMATS

SERIES

TAGS

Availability

Locations