Lalani of the Distant Sea [electronic resource]
eBook

Lalani of the Distant Sea [electronic resource]

By Kelly, Erin Entrada.
Baker & Taylor Axis 360.
OverDrive, Inc.

Audience Youth 0-15 years

Published 2019 by Greenwillow,

ISBN 9780062747297

Bib Id 2291298

Description 1 online resource

More Details

Leader
03550nam a22005175i 4500
ISBN
9780062747297 (eBook)
0062747290
Title
Lalani of the Distant Sea [electronic resource]
Publication Information
2019 by Greenwillow,
Description
1 online resource
Summary
Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly's debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path. When Lalani Sarita's mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for readers who loved Grace Lin's Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disney's Moana. Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores. When Lalani Sarita's mother falls gravely ill, twelve-year-old Lalani faces an impossible task—she must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest—how can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend? Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly's debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity. Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk's Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon.

FORMATS

SERIES

TAGS

Availability

Locations