Almost american girl [electronic resource] : An illustrated memoir
eBook

Almost american girl [electronic resource] : An illustrated memoir

By Ha, Robin.
OverDrive, Inc.
Baker & Taylor Axis 360.

Genre Electronic books.

ISBN 9780062685117

Bib Id 2348387

Description 1 online resource

More Details

Leader
03039nam a2200433Ka 4500
ISBN
9780062685117 (electronic bk)
Title
Almost american girl [electronic resource] : An illustrated memoir
Publication Information
Description
1 online resource
Summary
A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life —perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. This nonfiction graphic novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation—following her mother's announcement that she's getting married—Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to—her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.
Reproduction
Electronic reproduction. New York : Balzer + Bray, 2020. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Genre/Form
Electronic books
Added Author

FORMATS

SERIES

TAGS

Availability

Locations