Text-size

Eight Books to Read if You Loved The Giver

If you can't get enough of Lois Lowry's popular novel The Giver (read and re-read the book, seen the movie multiple times) Christine Scheper, Children’s Materials Specialist, thinks you'll love these eight young adult titles, as well.
 

Check them out today! 
 

Feed, by M. T. Anderson
Identity crises, consumerism, and star-crossed teenage love in a futuristic society where people connect to the Internet via feeds implanted in their brains.

Ship Breaker, by Paolo Bacigalupi
In a futuristic world, teenaged Nailer scavenges copper wiring from grounded oil tankers for a living, but when he finds a beached clipper ship with a girl in the wreckage, he has to decide if he should strip the ship for its wealth or rescue the girl.

The House of the Scorpion, by Nancy Farmer
In a future where humans despise clones, Matt enjoys special status as the young clone of El Patrón, the 142-year-old leader of a corrupt drug empire nestled between Mexico and the United States.

Life as We Knew It, by Susan Beth Pfeffer
Through journal entries sixteen-year-old Miranda describes her family's struggle to survive after a meteor hits the moon, causing worldwide tsunamis, earthquakes, and volcanic eruptions.

Fever Crumb, by Philip Reeve
Foundling Fever Crumb has been raised as an engineer although females in the future London, England, are not believed capable of rational thought, but at age fourteen she leaves her sheltered world and begins to learn startling truths about her past while facing danger in the present.

The Maze Runner, by Dashner
Sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up with no memory in the middle of a maze and realizes he must work with the community in which he finds himself if he is to escape.

Birthmarked, by Caragh M. O’Brien
In the enclave, your scars set you apart, and the newly born will change the future. Sixteen-year-old Gaia Stone and her mother faithfully deliver their quota of three infants every month. But when Gaia's mother is brutally taken away by the very people she serves, Gaia must question whether the Enclave deserves such loyalty.

Lockdown: Escape from Furnace, by Alexander Gordon Smith
Alex is framed for murder and becomes an inmate in the Furnace Penitentiary, where brutal inmates and sadistic guards reign, boys disappear in the middle of the night and return weirdly altered, and escape might just be possible.
 


 


 

Tue, 2014-09-09 10:14