Text-size

Good Americans / Tejas Desai.

Cover image for Good Americans
ISBN#9780988351936
BIB ID#1694071
Call# FIC Desai

Good Americans

0
Author
Publisher
New York : The New Wei, [2013].
Subjects
Description
369 pages ; 23 cm
Summary
Short stories.

Reviews and Notes

Summary/Annotation ->  In the tradition of Mark Twain, Sinclair Lewis, and William Faulkner, this groundbreaking short story collection paints an uncompromising portrait of a contemporary America filled with liars and buffoons, racists and swindlers, hypocritical ideologues and emotional manipulators. An Italian-American racist receives his comeuppance from a ghetto Hispanic teenager; a blonde runaway from Florida is forced into prostitution on her road from the South to North; a Dominican-American professor is embroiled in academic intrigue; a scarred white war veteran stalks a black stripper; an ambitious Midwestern journalist pursues a mysterious Indian-American lawyer. Good Americans is a "grand assault" against the fiction of our time, delivering a mind-blowing diversity of voices, subjects and effects. By turns thought-provoking, disturbing, hilarious and deeply moving, Good Americans is the first selection in The Human Tragedy, a panorama of our society that The New Wei will bring out over the coming years.

Availability

Locationsort iconCall NumberItem TypeVolumeBarcodeStatus
Central Adult Fiction- Ask at DeskFIC DesaiAdult Trade Paperback0228561031680Available
Central Adult Fiction- Ask at DeskFIC DesaiAdult Trade Paperback0228561031672Available
FlushingFIC DesaiAdult Trade Paperback0228551909465Due 3-6-2018
PoppenhusenFIC DesaiAdult Trade Paperback0228565164180Available
The Archives at Queens LibraryFIC DesaiAdult Reference0228541311244Available

Marc Record

01141nam a2200337Ii 4500
001
vtls001694071
003
NJQ
005
20140108111500.0
008
131204s2013 nyu b 000 f eng
020
 
 
$a 9780988351936 (pbk.) : $c $17.95
020
 
 
$a 0988351935 (pbk.) : $c $17.95
039
 
9
$a 201401081115 $b rramdhan $c 201312040811 $d jjacobs $c 201312040811 $d jjacobs $y 201312040808 $z jjacobs
040
 
 
$a ZQP $b eng $e rda $c ZQP
099
 
 
$a FIC Desai
100
1
 
$a Desai, Tejas, $e author.
245
1
4
$a Good Americans / $c Tejas Desai.
260
 
 
$a New York : $b The New Wei, $c [2013].
300
 
 
$a 369 pages ; $c 23 cm
336
 
 
$a text $b txt $2 rdacontent
337
 
 
$a unmediated $b n $2 rdamedia
338
 
 
$a volume $b nc $2 rdacarrier
490
1
 
$a The Human tragedy ; $v volume 1
500
 
 
$a Short stories.
599
 
 
$a A Jan14
651
 
 
$a Queens (New York, N.Y.) $v Fiction.
655
 
 
$a Urban fiction.
810
2
 
$a New Wei. $t Human tragedy ; $v v. 1
994
 
 
$a C0 $b ZQP
995
 
 
$a JJACOBS-OC:1213
999
 
 
$a VIRTUA
999
 
 
$a VTLSSORT0010 0080 0400 0200 0201 0990 1000 2450 2600 3000 3360 3370 3380 4900 5000 5990 6510 6550 8100 9940 9950 9992