Text-size

Good Americans / Tejas Desai.

Cover image for Good Americans
ISBN#9780988351936
BIB ID#1694071
Call# FIC Desai

Good Americans

0
Author
Publisher
New York : The New Wei, [2013].
Subjects
Description
369 pages ; 23 cm
Summary
Short stories.

Reviews and Notes

Summary/Annotation ->  In the tradition of Mark Twain, Sinclair Lewis, and William Faulkner, this groundbreaking short story collection paints an uncompromising portrait of a contemporary America filled with liars and buffoons, racists and swindlers, hypocritical ideologues and emotional manipulators. An Italian-American racist receives his comeuppance from a ghetto Hispanic teenager; a blonde runaway from Florida is forced into prostitution on her road from the South to North; a Dominican-American professor is embroiled in academic intrigue; a scarred white war veteran stalks a black stripper; an ambitious Midwestern journalist pursues a mysterious Indian-American lawyer. Good Americans is a "grand assault" against the fiction of our time, delivering a mind-blowing diversity of voices, subjects and effects. By turns thought-provoking, disturbing, hilarious and deeply moving, Good Americans is the first selection in The Human Tragedy, a panorama of our society that The New Wei will bring out over the coming years.

Availability

Locationsort iconCall NumberItem TypeVolumeBarcodeStatus
Central Adult Fiction- Ask at DeskFIC DesaiAdult Trade Paperback0228561031565Available
Central Adult Fiction- Ask at DeskFIC DesaiAdult Trade Paperback0228561031581Available
Central Adult Fiction- Ask at DeskFIC DesaiAdult Trade Paperback0228561031680Available
Central Adult Fiction- Ask at DeskFIC DesaiAdult Trade Paperback0228561031672Available
Central Adult Fiction- Ask at DeskFIC DesaiAdult Trade Paperback0228551909481Available
FlushingFIC DesaiAdult Trade Paperback0228551909465Available
PoppenhusenFIC DesaiAdult Trade Paperback0228565164180Available
The Archives at Queens LibraryFIC DesaiAdult Reference0228541311244Available

Marc Record

01141nam a2200337Ii 4500
001
vtls001694071
003
NJQ
005
20140108111500.0
008
131204s2013 nyu b 000 f eng
020
 
 
$a 9780988351936 (pbk.) : $c $17.95
020
 
 
$a 0988351935 (pbk.) : $c $17.95
039
 
9
$a 201401081115 $b rramdhan $c 201312040811 $d jjacobs $c 201312040811 $d jjacobs $y 201312040808 $z jjacobs
040
 
 
$a ZQP $b eng $e rda $c ZQP
099
 
 
$a FIC Desai
100
1
 
$a Desai, Tejas, $e author.
245
1
4
$a Good Americans / $c Tejas Desai.
260
 
 
$a New York : $b The New Wei, $c [2013].
300
 
 
$a 369 pages ; $c 23 cm
336
 
 
$a text $b txt $2 rdacontent
337
 
 
$a unmediated $b n $2 rdamedia
338
 
 
$a volume $b nc $2 rdacarrier
490
1
 
$a The Human tragedy ; $v volume 1
500
 
 
$a Short stories.
599
 
 
$a A Jan14
651
 
 
$a Queens (New York, N.Y.) $v Fiction.
655
 
 
$a Urban fiction.
810
2
 
$a New Wei. $t Human tragedy ; $v v. 1
994
 
 
$a C0 $b ZQP
995
 
 
$a JJACOBS-OC:1213
999
 
 
$a VIRTUA
999
 
 
$a VTLSSORT0010 0080 0400 0200 0201 0990 1000 2450 2600 3000 3360 3370 3380 4900 5000 5990 6510 6550 8100 9940 9950 9992