Text-size

Night Film : a Novel / Marisha Pessl.

Cover image for Night Film
ISBN#9780307932655
BIB ID#1655711
Call# FIC Pessi

Night Film

4.5

Reviews and Notes

Summary/Annotation ->  NEW YORK TIMES nbsp;BESTSELLER NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR * Cosmopolitan * Kirkus Reviews * BookPage A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy--the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker. nbsp; On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley's life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova--a man who hasn't been seen in public for more than thirty years. nbsp; For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova's dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself. nbsp; Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova's eerie, hypnotic world. nbsp; The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more. nbsp; Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page. Praise for Night Film nbsp; " Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl's deft touch with character." --Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review nbsp; "Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination." --Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review nbsp; "Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You'll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on." -- The Washington Post nbsp; "Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner." -- USA Today nbsp; "Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new." -- The Boston Globe nbsp; "Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense." -- Entertainment Weekly nbsp; "A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that's equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there's some secret detail that will snap everything into focus." -- New York nbsp; "Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl's own Night Film as well." -- Vanity Fair

Availability

LocationCall NumberItem TypeVolumeBarcodeStatussort icon
SunnysideFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228565755292Available
SunnysideFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228565755326Available
Richmond HillFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228553543452Available
Fresh MeadowsFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228572043112Available
FlushingFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228553534519Available
CoronaFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228572043195Available
Queens VillageFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228569686063Available
SeasideFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228553553345Available
Windsor ParkFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228561095073Available
Central Adult FictionFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228572116819Available
Glen OaksFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228572043203Available
HillcrestFIC Pessi21 Day Non-Requestable0228572043070Available
Central Adult FictionFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228572116769Available
WhitestoneFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228572232772Available
BriarwoodFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228565838775Available
WhitestoneFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228572232665Available
BelleroseFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560790971Available
Glen OaksFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228556700281Available
Central Adult Fiction- Ask at DeskFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560791102Available
BroadwayFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560790963Available
BaysideFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560791250Available
Mitchell-LindenFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560790880Available
HillcrestFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228556627401Available
BroadwayFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228561079952Available
Central Adult FictionFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228567949166Available
SeasideFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228565745574Available
St.AlbansFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228572042643Available
AuburndaleFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560790989Available
ElmhurstFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560791011Available
FlushingFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560791003Available
Glen OaksFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228572043120Available
Long Island CityFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560791078Available
Fresh MeadowsFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560791029Available
Court SquareFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228565159453Due 11-29-2014
McGoldrickFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560791037Due 11-5-2014
Queens Village MABFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228572043104Due 12-22-2014
Glen OaksFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228556700273Due 12-3-2014
Forest HillsFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560791532Due 12-4-2014
Forest HillsFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560790997Due 12-4-2014
Jackson HeightsFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228560791045Due 12-8-2014
Central Adult FictionFIC PessiAdult Hard Cover0228562856374Due 12-9-2014

Marc Record

01633cam a22005058i 4500
001
vtls001655711
003
NJQ
005
20130708142400.0
008
130617s2013 nyu b 001 1 eng
010
 
 
$a 2012-041163
020
 
 
$a 9781400067886 (hardcover) : $c $28.00
020
 
 
$a 140006788X
020
 
 
$a 9780307932655
020
 
 
$a 0307932656
039
 
9
$a 201307081424 $b jtsung $y 201306171105 $z rramdhan
040
 
 
$a DLC $b eng $e rda $c DLC $d BTCTA $d BDX $d YDXCP $d OCLCO $d OCLCQ
042
 
 
$a pcc
043
 
 
$a n-us-ny
049
 
 
$a ZQPM
050
 
 
$a PS3616.E825 $b N54 2013
082
 
 
$a 813/.6 $2 23
099
 
 
$a FIC Pessi
100
1
 
$a Pessl, Marisha, $e author.
245
1
 
$a Night Film : $b a Novel / $c Marisha Pessl.
250
 
 
$a First edition.
263
 
 
$a 1307
264
 
1
$a New York : $b Random House, $c ©2013.
300
 
 
$a pages ; $c cm
336
 
 
$a text $b txt $2 rdacontent
337
 
 
$a unmediated $b n $2 rdamedia
338
 
 
$a volume $b nc $2 rdacarrier
504
 
 
$a Includes bibliographical references and index.
590
 
 
$a MYSTERY
599
 
 
$a A July13-CP
650
 
 
$a Suicide $v Fiction.
650
 
 
$a Fathers and daughters $v Fiction.
650
 
 
$a Subculture $v Fiction.
650
 
 
$a Investigative reporting $v Fiction.
651
 
 
$a New York (N.Y.) $v Fiction.
655
 
 
$a Psychological fiction.
655
 
7
$a Mystery fiction. $2 gsafd
994
 
 
$a C0 $b ZQP
995
 
 
$a RRAMDHAN-CC:0613
999
 
 
$a VIRTUA
999
 
 
$a VTLSSORT0010 0080 0100 0400 0200 0201 0202 0203 0420 0430 0500 0820 0490 0990 1000 2450 2500 2630 2640 3000 3360 3370 3380 5040 5900 5990 6500 6501 6502 6503 6510 6550 6551 9940 9950 9992