Cover image for The boys in the boat
Author
Description
432
Call #
797.123 B
Subjects
ISBN #
9780670025817

 

ID #
1640559

 

Availability

LocationCall NumberItem Typesort iconVolumeBarcodeStatus
Richmond Hill797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228560690536Available
Ridgewood797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228565719769Available
Glen Oaks797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228568244930Due 5-5-2014
Central Adult Non-Fiction797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228567946741Available
Seaside797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228565738660Available
Fresh Meadows797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228564030598Available
Woodhaven797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228572093042Available
Broad Channel797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228556629274Available
Auburndale797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228565576631Available
Bayside797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228565576649In Transit
McGoldrick797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228565576581Available
Mitchell-Linden797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228565576573Available
Elmhurst797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228565576623Available
Jackson Heights797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228565576599Available
Fresh Meadows797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228565576607Due 5-6-2014
Broadway797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228565576656Available
Flushing797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228565576565Due 4-28-2014
Forest Hills797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228565576615Available
Long Island City797.123 BAdult Hard Cover0228565576680Available

Reviews and Notes

Summary/Annotation ->  For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken , the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936. The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together--a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism. Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times--the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs .

Marc Record

01414cam a22003738i 4500
001
vtls001640559
003
NJQ
005
20130422102300.0
008
130415s2013 nyu b 001 0deng
010
 
 
$a 2013-001560
020
 
 
$a 9780670025817 (hardcover) : $c $28.95
020
 
 
$a 067002581X
039
 
9
$a 201304221023 $b jkim $c 201304171148 $d ycheung $y 201304151517 $z jlin $w ACPNFMay13.dat $x 12
040
 
 
$a DLC $b eng $c DLC $e rda $d NjBwBT
082
 
 
$a 797.12/30973 $2 23
099
 
 
$a 797.123 B
100
1
 
$a Brown, Daniel, $d 1951-
245
1
4
$a The boys in the boat : $b nine Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Olympics / $c Daniel James Brown.
263
 
 
$a 1306
264
 
1
$a New York : $b Viking, $c [2013]
300
 
 
$a 432
336
 
 
$a text $2 rdacontent
337
 
 
$a unmediated $2 rdamedia
338
 
 
$a volume $2 rdacarrier
504
 
 
$a Includes bibliographical references and index.
599
 
 
$a A May13-CP
610
2
 
$a University of Washington $x Rowing $x History.
611
2
 
$a Olympic Games $n (11th : $d 1936 : $c Berlin, Germany)
650
 
 
$a Rowing $z United States $x History.
650
 
 
$a Rowers $z United States $v Biography.
654
 
 
$2 BISAC $a SPORTS & RECREATION / Olympics^SPORTS & RECREATION / Boating
995
 
 
$a YCHEUNG/JKIM-CC:0413
999
 
 
$a VIRTUA
999
 
 
$a VTLSSORT0080 0100 0200 0201 0400 0820 0990 1000 2450 2640 2630 3000 3360 3370 3380 5040 5990 6100 6110 6500 6501 6540 9950 9992
1640559

Terms & Conditions