Text-size

Cover image for Taco USA : how Mexican food conquered America
ISBN#9781439148617
BIB ID#1563548
Call# 641.5972 A

Taco USA : how Mexican food conquered America

0
Author
Publisher
New York : Scribner, 2012.
Subjects
Description
viii, 310 p. : ill. ; 23 cm.
Summary
Presents a narrative history of Mexican cuisine in the United States, sharing a century's worth of anecdotes and cultural criticism to address questions about culinary authenticity and the source of Mexican food's popularity.

Reviews and Notes

Summary/Annotation ->  Nationally syndicated columnist and bestselling author of ¡Ask a Mexican! Gustavo Arellano presents an entertaining, tasty trip through the history and culture of Mexican food in this country, uncovering great stories and charting the cuisine's tremendous popularity in el Norte. In the tradition of Bill Buford's Heat and Calvin Trillin's The Tummy Trilogy , Arellano's fascinating narrative combines history, cultural criticism, personal anecdotes, and Jesus on a tortilla. When salsa overtook ketchup as this country's favorite condiment in the 1990s, America's century-long love affair with Mexican food reached yet another milestone. In seemingly every decade since the 1880s, America has tried new food trends from south of the border-chili, tamales, tacos, enchiladas, tequila, bacon-wrapped hot dogs, and so many more-loved them, and demanded the next great thing. As a result, Mexican food dominates American palates to the tune of billions of dollars in sales per year, from canned refried beans to frozen margaritas and ballpark nachos. It's a little-known history, one that's crept up on this country like your Mexican neighbors-and left us better for it. Now, Taco USA addresses the all-important questions: What exactly constitutes "Mexican" food in the United States? How did it get here? What's "authentic" and what's "Taco Bell," and does it matter? What's so cosmic about a burrito? And why do Americans love Mexican food so darn much? Tacos, alas, sold separately.

Availability

LocationCall NumberItem TypeVolumesort iconBarcodeStatus
Central Adult Non-Fiction641.5972 AAdult Hard Cover0228563266177Available
Central Adult Non-Fic- Ask at Desk641.5972 AAdult Hard Cover0228564832092Available

Marc Record

01280cam a2200325I 4500
001
vtls001563548
003
NJQ
005
20120423093400.0
008
120423s2012 nyua 001 0 eng d
020
 
 
$a 9781439148617
020
 
 
$a 1439148619
039
 
9
$y 201204230934 $z jrusso
040
 
 
$a BTCTA $b eng $c BTCTA $d YDXCP $d BDX $d MR0 $d JRS $d CZA
049
 
 
$a ZQPM
050
1
4
$a GT2853.U5 $b A74 2012
092
 
 
$a 641.5972 $b ARE
099
 
 
$a 641.5972 A
100
1
 
$a Arellano, Gustavo, $d 1979-
245
1
 
$a Taco USA : $b how Mexican food conquered America / $c Gustavo Arellano.
250
 
 
$a 1st Scribner hardcover ed.
260
 
 
$a New York : $b Scribner, $c 2012.
300
 
 
$a viii, 310 p. : $b ill. ; $c 23 cm.
504
 
 
$a Includes bibliographical references and index.
520
 
 
$a Presents a narrative history of Mexican cuisine in the United States, sharing a century's worth of anecdotes and cultural criticism to address questions about culinary authenticity and the source of Mexican food's popularity.
650
 
 
$a Cooking, Mexican.
650
 
 
$a Cooking, Mexican $x History.
994
 
 
$a C0 $b ZQP
995
 
 
$a JRUSSO-CC:0412
999
 
 
$a VIRTUA
999
 
 
$a VTLSSORT0080 0400 0200 0201 0500 0920 0990 0490 1000 2450 2500 2600 3000 5040 5200 6500 6501 9950 9940 9992