Text-size

Cover image for Rump : the true story of Rumpelstiltskin
ISBN#9780307977960
BIB ID#1637458
Call# J Shurtliff

Rump : the true story of Rumpelstiltskin

5
Author
Publisher
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2013.
Description
264 p. ; 20 cm.
Summary
Relates the tale of Rumpelstiltskin's childhood and youth, explaining why his name is so important, how he is able to spin straw into gold, and why a first-born child is his reward for helping the miller's daughter-turned-queen.

Reviews and Notes

Summary/Annotation ->  This funny fractured fairy tale goesnbsp;behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold." In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke.nbsp;But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she's right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse. To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship--and a cheeky sense of humor--he just might triumph in the end. A Texas Bluebonnet Master List Selection, Rump is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted nbsp;or Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm . " Lighthearted and inventive,nbsp; Rump nbsp;amusingly expands a classic tale." --Brandon Mull, #1nbsp; New York Timesnbsp; bestselling author ofnbsp; Fablehaven.

Availability

LocationCall NumberItem TypeVolumeBarcodeStatussort icon
Queens VillageJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228565439111Due 9-24-2014
LaureltonJ ShurtliffJuvenile Paperback0228558730732Due 9-23-2014
RidgewoodJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228561167021Due 8-29-2014
Forest HillsJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228565452627Due 10-8-2014
Lefrak CityJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228566446503Due 10-7-2014
Childrens Library Discovery CenterJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228568078585Due 10-6-2014
FlushingJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228568241514Due 10-4-2014
Fresh MeadowsJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228566508989Due 10-2-2014
Glen OaksJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228573729891Available
Glen OaksJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228573729917Available
DouglastonJ ShurtliffJuvenile Paperback0228565708937Available
SeasideJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228560782838Available
SeasideJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228565616437Available
SunnysideJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard CoverFiction0228565417950Available
South JamaicaJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228561173359Available
AuburndaleJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228565469563Available
Childrens Library Discovery CenterJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228568226853Available
ArverneJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard CoverFIC.0228565650758Available
Rochdale VillageJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard CoverJ FIC0228565565667Available

Marc Record

01441cam a2200349 a 4500
001
vtls001637458
003
NJQ
005
20140805114000.0
008
130326s2013 nyu c 000 1 eng
010
 
 
$a 2012-005093
020
 
 
$a 9780307977939 (hbk.) : $c $17.00
020
 
 
$a 0307977935
020
 
 
$a 9780307977946
020
 
 
$a 0307977943
020
 
 
$a 9780307977960 (paperback) : $c $7.00
020
 
 
$a 030797796X
039
 
9
$a 201408051140 $b rramdhan $c 201303271458 $d sislam $y 201303260915 $z jlin $w JFApr13.dat $x 66
040
 
 
$a DLC $c DLC $d NjBwBT
082
 
 
$a [Fic] $2 23
099
 
 
$a J Shurtliff
100
1
 
$a Shurtliff, Liesl.
245
1
 
$a Rump : $b the true story of Rumpelstiltskin / $c Liesl Shurtliff.
250
 
 
$a 1st ed.
260
 
 
$a New York : $b Alfred A. Knopf, $c 2013.
263
 
 
$a 1304
300
 
 
$a 264 p. ; $c 20 cm.
520
 
 
$a Relates the tale of Rumpelstiltskin's childhood and youth, explaining why his name is so important, how he is able to spin straw into gold, and why a first-born child is his reward for helping the miller's daughter-turned-queen.
599
 
 
$a J Apr13
654
 
 
$2 BISAC $a JUVENILE FICTION / Fairy Tales & Folklore / Adaptations^JUVENILE FICTION / Humorous Stories^JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
995
 
 
$a SISLAM-CC:0313
999
 
 
$a VIRTUA
999
 
 
$a VTLSSORT0010 0080 0100 0204 0205 0200 0201 0202 0203 0400 0820 0990 1000 2450 2500 2600 2630 3000 5200 5990 6540 9950 9992