Cover image for Rump : the true story of Rumpelstiltskin

Rump : the true story of Rumpelstiltskin

Author
Publisher
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2013.
Description
272 p. ; cm.
Call #
J Shurtliff
Summary
Relates the tale of Rumpelstiltskin's childhood and youth, explaining why his name is so important, how he is able to spin straw into gold, and why a first-born child is his reward for helping the miller's daughter-turned-queen.
ISBN #
9780307977939

 

ID #
1637458

 

Availability

Locationsort iconCall NumberItem TypeVolumeBarcodeStatus
ArverneJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard CoverFIC.0228565650758Requested for Loan
AuburndaleJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228565469563Due 4-23-2014
Childrens Library Discovery CenterJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228568078585Due 4-27-2014
Childrens Library Discovery CenterJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228568226853Due 4-26-2014
FlushingJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228568241514Due 4-26-2014
Forest HillsJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228565452627Due 5-15-2014
Glen OaksJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228573729891Available
Glen OaksJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228573729917Available
Queens VillageJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228565439111Available
RidgewoodJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228561167021Available
Rochdale VillageJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard CoverJ FIC0228565565667Due 4-19-2014
SeasideJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228565616437Available
SeasideJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228560782838Available
South JamaicaJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard Cover0228561173359Due 4-29-2014
SunnysideJ ShurtliffJuvenile Hard CoverFiction0228565417950Due 5-12-2014

Reviews and Notes

Summary/Annotation ->  This funny fractured fairy tale goesnbsp;behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold." In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke.nbsp;But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she's right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse. To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship--and a cheeky sense of humor--he just might triumph in the end. A Texas Bluebonnet Master List Selection, Rump is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted nbsp;or Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm . " Lighthearted and inventive,nbsp; Rump nbsp;amusingly expands a classic tale." --Brandon Mull, #1nbsp; New York Timesnbsp; bestselling author ofnbsp; Fablehaven.

Marc Record

01254cam a22003018a 4500
001
vtls001637458
003
NJQ
005
20130327145800.0
008
130326s2013 nyu c 000 1 eng
010
 
 
$a 2012-005093
020
 
 
$a 9780307977939 (hbk.) : $c $17.00
020
 
 
$a 0307977935
039
 
9
$a 201303271458 $b sislam $y 201303260915 $z jlin $w JFApr13.dat $x 66
040
 
 
$a DLC $c DLC $d NjBwBT
082
 
 
$a [Fic] $2 23
099
 
 
$a J Shurtliff
100
1
 
$a Shurtliff, Liesl.
245
1
 
$a Rump : $b the true story of Rumpelstiltskin / $c Liesl Shurtliff.
250
 
 
$a 1st ed.
260
 
 
$a New York : $b Alfred A. Knopf, $c 2013.
263
 
 
$a 1304
300
 
 
$a 272 p. ; $c cm.
520
 
 
$a Relates the tale of Rumpelstiltskin's childhood and youth, explaining why his name is so important, how he is able to spin straw into gold, and why a first-born child is his reward for helping the miller's daughter-turned-queen.
599
 
 
$a J Apr13
654
 
 
$2 BISAC $a JUVENILE FICTION / Fairy Tales & Folklore / Adaptations^JUVENILE FICTION / Humorous Stories^JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
995
 
 
$a SISLAM-CC:0313
999
 
 
$a VIRTUA
999
 
 
$a VTLSSORT0080 0100 0200 0201 0400 0820 0990 1000 2450 2500 2600 2630 3000 5200 5990 6540 9950 9992
1637458

Terms & Conditions