Text-size

Cover image for One moment
ISBN#9781606840863
BIB ID#1579982
Call# FIC McBride

One moment

5
Author
Publisher
New York : Egmont USA, 2012.
Subjects
Description
261 p. ; 22 cm.
Summary
Rising high school senior Maggie remembers little about the accidental death of her boyfriend, Joey, but as she slowly begins to recall that day at the gorge with their long-time friends, she realizes he was keeping some terrible secrets

Reviews and Notes

Summary/Annotation ->  Following on the heels of her "must read" debut novel ( New York Times best-selling author Jay Asher) One Moment is perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman .

This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie's life. Now it's the one she'd do anything to forget.

Maggie remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party. She remembers climbing the trail with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can't she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below-dead?

As Maggie's memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?

The latest novel from the author of The Tension of Opposites , One Moment is a mysterious, searing look at how an instant can change everything you believe about the world around you.

Praise for One Moment :

"Infused with page-turning mystery, One Moment is as heartbreakingly real as it is unexpectedly romantic."--Cat Patrick, author of Forgotten and Revived

" One Moment took my breath away. Beautifully written, achingly romantic, and so much tension the pages seem like they're turning themselves. One of the best books I've read in ages."--Lauren Barnholdt, author of Two-Way Street

" A page-tuner that grabbed me by the throat, and was impossible to put down!"--Katrina Kittle, author of Reasons to Be Happy

"Good, solid drama about the power of secrets to test the bounds of friendship, with just enough tension to satisfy teen readers ."--Kirkus Reviews

"McBride (Th e Tension of Opposites ) skillfully interweaves Maggie's flashes of memory with present action, making for a tense and absorbing psychological mystery."-- Publishers Weekly

Availability

Locationsort iconCall NumberItem TypeVolumeBarcodeStatus
Briarwood - Young AdultFIC McBrideAdult Hard Cover0228561380558Available

Marc Record

01453cam a22003738a 4500
001
vtls001579982
003
NJQ
005
20120926143100.0
008
120625s2012 nyu d 000 1 eng
020
 
 
$a 9781606840863 (hbk.) : $c $17.00
020
 
 
$a 160684086X
039
 
9
$a 201209261431 $b ashuja $c 201206261015 $d sislam $y 201206251207 $z ycheung
040
 
 
$a DLC $b eng $c DLC $d BTCTA $d BDX
042
 
 
$a lcac $a pcc
049
 
 
$a ZQPM
082
 
 
$a [Fic] $2 23
099
 
 
$a FIC McBride
100
1
 
$a McBride, Kristina.
245
1
 
$a One moment / $c Kristina McBride.
260
 
 
$a New York : $b Egmont USA, $c 2012.
300
 
 
$a 261 p. ; $c 22 cm.
520
 
 
$a Rising high school senior Maggie remembers little about the accidental death of her boyfriend, Joey, but as she slowly begins to recall that day at the gorge with their long-time friends, she realizes he was keeping some terrible secrets
599
 
 
$a YA Oct12
650
 
 
$a Secrets $v Juvenile fiction.
650
 
 
$a Friendship $v Juvenile fiction.
650
 
 
$a Dating (Social customs) $v Juvenile fiction.
650
 
 
$a Amnesia $v Juvenile fiction.
650
 
 
$a Death $v Juvenile fiction.
650
 
 
$a Families $z Ohio $v Juvenile fiction.
651
 
 
$a Ohio $v Juvenile fiction.
994
 
 
$a C0 $b ZQP
995
 
 
$a YCHEUNG/SISLAM-CC:0612
999
 
 
$a VIRTUA
999
 
 
$a VTLSSORT0010 0080 0390 0400 0200 0201 0420 0820 0490 0990 1000 2450 2600 3000 5200 5990 6500 6501 6502 6503 6504 6505 6510 9940 9950 9992